Malawi. Malawi and Canada observe the terms of 1958 Trade Agreement between Canada and the former Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland. GATT effective July 6, 1964. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Malaysia. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective September 16, 1963. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Maldives. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment.)

Malta. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective September 16, 1964. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Mauritius. GATT effective March 12, 1968. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

New Zealand. Trade Agreement in force May 24, 1932, modified and continued in force by an Exchange of Letters dated July 26, 1973. GATT effective July 26, 1948. (Bindings of rates of duty on specified products and the exchange of tariff preferences.)

Nigeria. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective October 1, 1960. (Canada accords British preferential treatment to Nigeria. Nigeria extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Rhodesia. Canada does not recognize the present government of Rhodesia. (Trade embargo exists between Canada and Rhodesia with certain humanitarian exceptions.)

Sierra Leone. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain, GATT effective April 27, 1961. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Sierra Leone. Sierra Leone extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Singapore. GATT membership August 10, 1973.

Sri Lanka, Republic of (formerly Ceylon). Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective July 29, 1948. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Swaziland. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential treatment to Swaziland.)

Tanzania. GATT effective for Tanganyika December 9, 1961 and extended to Zanzibar upon formation of United Republic, April 23, 1964. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Tanzania. Tanzania extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Tonga. Tonga maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Trinidad and Tobago. Relations are based on Canada – West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective August 31, 1962. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Uganda. GATT effective October 9, 1962. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Uganda. Uganda extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Western Samoa. No agreement. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Zambia. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Zambia. Zambia extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

18.4.2.2 Tariff and trade arrangements with non-Commonwealth countries, as at December 31, 1973

Algeria. Franco—Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Algeria. Algeria maintains de facto application of GATT. (Since the creation of Algeria as an independent state in 1962, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Arab Republic of Egypt. Exchange of notes in force December 3, 1952. GATT effective May 9, 1970. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Argentina. GATT provisionally effective October 11, 1967.

Austria. GATT effective October 19, 1951. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Bahrain. Bahrain maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)